Home / POLITICS / NPP polling station elections: Aspirants in Daboya-Mankarigu sue party

NPP polling station elections: Aspirants in Daboya-Mankarigu sue party

They are accusing the party of hand-picking polling station executives without elections as required by the party’s constitution, though forms were sold to aspirants.

The writ filed by Mohammed Jamal, Musah Nurudeen and Yahaya Janfaru, all aspirants of polling station executives in the constituency, at the Tamale High Court is seeking an order of injunction to restrain the party from declaring polling station elections in the absence of any elections.

The plaintiffs are also seeking an order by the court to annul all declared or registered polling station executives who were not elected through the ballot box.

“A declaration that the appointment or registration of NPP polling station executives in the Daboya-Mankarigu constituency in the absence of an election contravenes the NPP constitution. An order of perpetual injunction restraining respondent or its agents, assigns, executives from declaring or appointing or registering new polling station executives in the Daboya-Mankarigu in the absence of elections.”

The aggrieved aspirants also petitioned the regional executives on the matter and accused the regional representative of being the brain behind the hand-picking of preferred aspirants as executives.

One of the plaintiffs Mohammed Jamal who spoke to citinewsroom.com said the aggrieved aspirants are more than 48 in the constituency and insisted they will not allow a few people to destroy the party in the area.

About admin

Check Also

11 lawyers making name in parliament

Did you know that some members of Parliament were once practicing lawyers before they contest …

Know the hometowns and birth places of all Ghana’s presidents

Ghana has technically had over ten (10) Heads of State since the country gained independence …

Here are 10 MPs with PhDs in Ghana’s 8th Parliament

Ghana’s parliament has a total membership of 275 Members of Parliament representing the various constituencies …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com