Connect with us

News Africa

Meet the five Justices that will decide Tinubu, Obi, Atiku’s fate



The opposition parties are contesting the outcome of the 2023 presidential election that produced Bola Tinubu the winner and president-elect.

Peter Obi of the Labour Party and Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party are currently in court to challenge the outcome that produced Bola Tinubu the winner and president-elect by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The presidential election petition hearing is set to begin on May 30 a day after the inauguration ceremony of Bola Tinubu.

However, the five Justices that will hear the petition include;

Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani

Justice Stephen Adah

Justice Bolaji-Yusuf

Justice Moses Ugo

Justice Abbah Mohammed

Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani will lead the panel of Justices. Justice Haruna Tsammani is a renowned Nigerian jurist who has made significant contributions to the Nigerian judiciary system. He is known for his dedication to upholding the rule of law, and his commitment to justice and fairness. In this blog post, we will take a closer look at his life, career, and achievements.

Justice Haruna Tsammani was born in 1959 in Gombe State, Nigeria. He received his primary and secondary education in Gombe before proceeding to Bayero University in Kano, where he earned a Bachelor of Laws degree in 1982. After completing his undergraduate studies, he went on to earn a Master of Laws degree from Ahmadu Bello University in Zaria.

Justice Tsammani began his legal career in 1983 as a Pupil State Counsel in the Bauchi State Ministry of Justice. He later moved to the Ministry of Justice in Gombe State, where he served as Director of Public Prosecutions. In 1999, he was appointed as a Judge of the High Court of Gombe State.

In 2011, Justice Tsammani was appointed as a Justice of the Court of Appeal, a position he held until his appointment as a Justice of the Supreme Court of Nigeria in 2016. As a Justice of the Supreme Court, he has presided over several high-profile cases and has been widely regarded as a fair and impartial judge.

Throughout his career, Justice Tsammani has been a strong advocate for the rule of law and the independence of the judiciary. He has also been a vocal supporter of judicial reform in Nigeria, and has called for the modernization of the country’s legal system to better serve the needs of its citizens.

Justice Stephen Adah

Stephen Adah is a Nigerian Lawyer, Barrister, Judge and Justice. He has precided in top cases in Nigeria.

Justice Stephen Adah was born on June13, 1957 in Dekina Local Government Area of Kogi State. He grew up with his parents who sent him to school to study Law and legal matters.

His career started immediately he graduated from the university. He began as a practicing laywer at the lowest level and grew to his current state. He is the presiding Justice of the Asaba Division of the Court of Appeal.

Stephen Adah became an Appeal Court judge since November 2012.

Initially he was a Federal High Court judge for over 14 years.

Justice Misturat Bolaji-Yusuf

Justice Misturat Bolaji-Yusuf was born on August 7, 1959. She hails from the Oyo West Local Government Area of Oyo State.

She obtained her LL.B degree from the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, in 1983, attended the Nigerian Law School the following year for her BL Certificate.

She was a Judge of the High Court of Oyo State for 17 years before her promotion to the Court of Appeal judge on March 24, 2014

Justice Moses Ugo

Boloukuoromo Moses Ugo was born on June 7, 1965. He is from the Kolokuma/Opokuma Local Government Area of Bayelsa State.

He obtained his LL.B degree from the University of Calabar in 1989. Moses Ugo was later appointed a judge of the High Court of Bayelsa State on March 21, 2006. He was elevated to Court of Appeal on March 24, 2014.

Justice Abbah Mohammed

Abba Bello Mohammed was born on February 19, 1961. He obtained his LL.B degree from the Institute of Administration, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Kaduna State, in 1984 where he received his BL certificate at the Nigerian Law School in Lagos. He is a native of Kano State.




Verified by MonsterInsights