Savannah Region: Professor Kalamonia Wins as NPP Chairman  - The World's Biggest Pride
Home / POLITICS / Savannah Region: Professor Kalamonia Wins as NPP Chairman 

Savannah Region: Professor Kalamonia Wins as NPP Chairman 

Alhaji Iddrisu Sulemana popularly known as Professor Kalamonia has today Monday 20th May, 2019 won as NPP Chairman for the Savannah Regional at a peaceful election held at the Assembly Hall of the Damongo Senior High School.

Professor Kalamonia becomes the first NPP Chairman for the infant Savannah Region by polling 88 votes out of 127 total votes cast to beat his main contender Nana Kwame Aboagye who polled 37 votes.

Professor Kalamonia once contested for the position of 1st Vice- Chairman of NPP in the Northern Regional elections and lost before the Savannah region was carved out of the Northern region.

Alhaji Iddrisu Sulemana, 62,  is a businessman, philanthropist and a known financier of the NPP.

Speaking exclusively to Bole based Nkilgi Fm shortly after the election, Proffessor Kalamonia thanked all delegates across the Savannah Region and promised to uphold all promises he made during the campaigns.

He called on all NPP faithful to rally behind him to succeed.

Before ballots were cast the NPP National  Secretary John Boadu urged delegates to elect hardworking executives who will  ensure victory through hardwork for the party.

He said the party has done enough by creating the Savannah region and ready to develop the infant region.

Madam Rita Asobayire,1st Vice Chairperson of the party, who was the  Special Guest of Honour spoke on the need for party unity and togetherness saying “without unity, the party will not have it easy winning election 2020”.

The Deputy Chief of staff Lawyer Samuel Abu Jinapor urged the newly elected executives to work hard since the region has a lot to do to defeat the opposition NDC in 2020. He said out of seven (7) constituencies, the NPP can only boast of one (1) seat which is shows the party is not what it used to be over the years in the region.

He said Damongo constituency for instance used to be a solid ground for the NPP which had the party’s candidate winning twice from 2000 to 2008 to represent the constituency in Ghana’s Parliament.

The Deputy  Chief of staff urged the NPP delegates gathered not to relax but fight extra hard towards retaining power in the 2020 elections.

Other winners at the Savannah Region NPP elections include Dr Amadu Musah Abudu (Principal of Bagabaga Training College in Tamale) as 1st Vice- Chairman with Hajia Zulfawu Amadu clinching the 2nd Vice- Chairperson position.

A former Northern Regional Deputy Secretary of the NPP Mr Haruna Iddrisu won the position of Secretary for the Savannah Region with the Deputy Secretary position going to Sulemana Amin.

Hajia Mohammed Safia won as Women’s Organiser while Mr Mohammed Tohir won as Organiser.

Others who won their positions include Mr Raphael Mahama Akati (former NPP Communication  Officer for the Bole – Bamboi Constituency) as Youth Organiser; Mahama Mumuni Akotia as Treasurer and Madam Losina Barikisu as Nasara Coordinator.


Source:|Ghana|Zion Abdul Rauf

About admin

Check Also

LIVESTREAMING: Ofori-Atta presents 2023 budget to parliament

The Minister for Finance and Economic Planning, Ken Ofori-Atta, is before the parliament of Ghana to …

You’re unfit to occupy Communications Ministry – Sam George to Ursula Owusu over uninformed directive

Samuel Nartey George, NDC MP, Ningo-Prampram, has stated that Ursula Owusu-Ekuful is unfit to be the Minister …

Dr Bawumia’s aide clashes with Governs Agbodza over cost of hospital projects

A technical advisor at the Office of the Vice President, Dr. Kabiru Mahama, clashed with …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :