Connect with us

News Africa

These 11 African countries are still ‘competing’ in Euro 2020




The competition is heading into the quarter-final stage

When the Euro 2020 tournament kicked off across Europe, 25 African countries were present – not literally.

They were represented by players with African descent had been called up by their European national teams.

With the competition headed into the quarter final stage, there are only eight teams in the race for glory and in there are a number of African players.

France, which had as many as 11 out of their 23 players with links to Africa crashed out in a paiful fashion when a player of African descent (PSG’s Kylian Mbappe) missed a penalty which dumped the World Champions out of the tournament.

List of African countries and their European players:

#1 Angola

Jordan Lotomba (Switzerland)

#2 Cape Verde

Edmilson Fernandes (Switzerland)

#3 DRC

Jordan Lotomba (Switzerland), Dedryck Boyata (Belgium), Youri Tielemans (Belgium), Christian Benteke (Belgium), Michy Batshuayi (Belgium), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), Kevin Mbabu (Switzerland), Denis Zakaria (Switzerland), Jason Denayer (Belgium)

#4 The Gambia

Mathias ‘Zanka’ Jorgensen (Denmark)

#5 Ghana

Jeremy Doku (Belgium)

#6 Mali

Adama Traore (Spain)

#7 Morocco

Nacer Chadli (Belgium)

#8 Nigeria

Bukayo Saka (England), Manuel Akanji (Switzerland)

#9 Senegal

Djibril Sow (Switzerland)

#10 South Sudan

Denis Zakaria (Switzerland)

#11 Tanzania

Yussuf Poulsen (Denmark)



Copyright © 2021, The Press Radio Multimedia