Home / [LIST]: Referees Association of Ghana suspends 74 referees

[LIST]: Referees Association of Ghana suspends 74 referees

The Referees Association of Ghana (RAG) has suspended 74 referees following an expose by ace investigative journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas on corruption in Ghana football.

Joe Debrah, the Assistant Chairman of the Association, told Joy News the provisional list of referees perceived to be corrupt in the Number 12 expose has been circulated to all the relevant stakeholders.

“They are to step aside akin to being on interdiction in the public sector but we call that provisionally suspended.

“We are going to investigate to establish whether they are really culpable or not pending the final determination of their case by the Disciplinary Committee of RAG,” he said.

The documentary, officially titled, ‘When Greed and Corruption Become the Norm’ is popularly as ‘Number 12’ takes a sweeping look at cases of match-fixing and its effects on honest and hardworking footballers, compromised match officials.

The investigative piece which shook the nation revealed how some officials in at the GFA allegedly took bribes to influence matches.

Following the expose, the FA Chairman, Kwesi Nyantakyi who was seen in the documentary resigned and is currently under investigation.

This was after a charge of defrauding by false pretence was levelled against him.

A breakdown of the category of referees suspended includes; 6 FIFA referees, 7 assistant FIFA referees, 21 premier referees, 21 premier assistant referees, 4 division one referees, 6 division one assistant referees, 4 in the women league and 5 retired referees.

Below are the names of those listed by RAG

1. Prosper Adii
2. Issaka Afful
3. Reginald Lathbridge
4. Nathan Anafo
5. Cecil Amatey Fleischer
6. Adaari Latif

7. Dawood Ouedraogo
8. Ibrahim Adam Badiu
9. Eric Nantiere
10. A. S. Malik
11. David Adjin
12. David Laryea
13. Theresa Akogyam


14. Yaw Ametepey
15. Dally Gagba
16. William Agbovi
17. Sylvester Adzoku
18. S. B. Bortey
19. Nuhu Liman
20. Mclord Arhin
21. Emmanuel Ansah
22. Amofa Sarkodiee
23. Justice Adu Poku
24. Timothy Obuobisa
25. Wiseman Ghansah
26. Prince Amoah
27. Samuel Sukah
28. Samuel Kyeremeh
29. Otis Oppong
30. Awal Mohammed
31. Daniel Dogbetor
32. Uriah Glah
33. Eku Boateng
34. Solomon Mordey

35. Alhassan yahaya
36. Haruna Bawa
37. Safo Adade
38. Samuel Borquaye
39. Samuel Opoku Boateng
40. Alhassan Badiu
41. Ben Wormawor
42. Emurana Salifu
43. Joseph Ayambila
44. Salifu Rahman
45. Samuel Asiedu
46. Joseph Sey
47. Ashitey Armah
48. Jason Nunoo
49. Philip Darko
50. Ashong Ibrahim
51. Augustine Akugri
52. Ben Samari
53. Kennedy Bentil
54. Freeman Awulo
55. Nii Kotey Kotei

56. Heyford Adehe
57. Dickson Wellington
58. Abraham Poku
59. Prince Coffie

60. Saviour Amevor
61. Atsu Dogbey
62. Charles Abloh
63. Daniel Diawu
64. Joseph Laryea
65. E. B. Quaye

66. Fulera Iddrisu Bamie
67. Eugenia Asigri
68. Richlove Awuah
69. Esther Awo Detse

70. Leanier Addy
71. S. A. Quaye
72. Wellington Joseph
73. Umar Teni
74. Charles Dowuona

About admin

Check Also

Two farmers grabbed over human trafficking

Two farmers, Kabu Ayiku Petsi and Daniel Gaglozu, have been put before an Accra Circuit …

Father who raped his 6-year-old daughter get life sentence

A 40-year-old Gauteng father who raped his six-year-old child two years ago was given life …

Ghana back to HIPC: Who made that official declaration? – Kweku Baako queries Mahama

Seasoned Journalist, Abdul Malik Kweku Baako has slammed former President and NDC Presidential candidate, John Dramani …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by Live Score & Live Score App